How can we recycle

How can we recycle was my favourite art project

(This is an artistic project that I used to work an entire summer)

Art has always evolved in close relationship with technology, both have evolved around the same time, so, once with industrial revolution, appeared new material, such as plastics.

By converting waste into usable resources, we can help at cleaning environment from the visual point of view and in terms of pollution; garbage is containing recoverable material in 70% and if you add biodegradable material, even 90%. We can help to conserve natural resources, conserving energy. Much less energy is needed to transform recycled materials into new materials, compared with the start of  raw materials.

peisaj cu blocuri noaptea IMG_1669
IMG_1467 IMG_1465 (1)
IMG_1465 (1) DSC00107
IMG_1376 IMG_1681

The topic of this project started from my desire to show that art can be made from anything; I used Pet caps instead of frame, using different colors, without put them in a certain order. I placed them so to look like a colored frame or to become similar (visual) with a toy.

In fact art is, from my point of view, like a game which you have to play with enjoyment; some people who have reached maturity forgets their origins and became, in some cases, more vulnerable than children. Through this play I’m not purpose to make fun of a serious subject, on the opposite; I suggest a solution on the Art benefit of something that requires an immediate issue solving from us.

A recycle means to reuse the material to manufacture new products. If for metal (steel, aluminium) are almost 20 companies recycler and the paper is molten again, in 11 installations, the latest recycling fashion is plastic.

If other waste types (cardboard, paper, wood, foil) are more easier to buy wholesale from factory or supermarket courts, plastic containers from which we drink juices daily are the only residues that is obtained exclusively for consumer (National Geographic, october, 2007).

To procure these caps I went in bars, clubs (I spoked with people to donate their caps in the art benefit. It was an act of socializing for a good cause, to which most responded positively. So, putting shoulder to shoulder, each of them took part on this project.

When somebody can help you with something and this doesn’t involve to give up something he needs, most likely, he will help you with the greatest pleasure.

Also, I collected caps from the wood with my dog, Lord (which, unfortunately, is no longer) which brought me the bottles complete with caps and made a huge plenty of bottles (so I called him the environmentalist dog).

IMG_1290 IMG_1272
IMG_1317 IMG_1333

It was my favorite personal project that I worked on. I hope others will follow, on which to work with the same pleasure like on this one.

5 thoughts on “How can we recycle

      1. Even if they’re passed away, they protect us every day. After he died I lost a dog but also a partner with whom I ran every day on the hills. I’m glad to meet special people who loves animals. Also, I’m sorry for you lost Tazzie.

Leave a Reply

